Review: Sonic Prologue

I love Sonic the Hedgehog, and I love fan films. After seeing the trailer well over a year ago, I was hyped! It seemed like it’d be a very good film about how Sonic and Tails met!

On August 2, 2014, Sonic Prologue came out. I had honestly forgotten about it by then, and I was like, “Oh, cool, a Sonic fan film.” I watched it, and how did I react? I’ll show you in this review.

1. The Voice Acting

Though the voice acting is impressive, it’s nowhere near perfect. Sonic’s voice sounds like Roger Craig Smith, Sonic’s current voice actor, but it’s very off because of the pitch. Every other character’s voice… is bad. They only barely fit the character’s mood. However, though it does not fit the characters, it fits the somewhat-dark mood of the film.

2. The Animation

The animation, over all, is not perfect. However, it definitely isn’t horrible. There are only a few parts that stand out in the film, and (in my opinion) it’s when Classic Sonic fights Metal Sonic, and when Sonic’s racing Tails. Other than that, the movie is really… slow, when it comes to the animation.

3. The Plot

The plot is how Sonic and Tails met, with a little twist. It seems like an amalgam of Sonic CD and Sonic 2, because Sonic mentions Little Planet, and the elements from Sonic 2 like Tails and the Tornado. I honestly didn’t pay attention to the plot in this, but I really disliked the cliff hanger. I mean, I know you’re supposed to play Sonic 2, as this is a prologue, but they could have given more closure to the story, y’know?

I also give kudos to how accurate this is to Sonic 2’s manual, as Tails was watching Sonic, and eventually got to race him. Sonic was impressed with how fast Tails was in both the manual and the fan film.

4. The Verdict

This is good, and you have to love it for all the effort the creators put into it. But, sadly, it feels like something that was hyped more than we should have expected it. I was fooled into thinking it’d be the best thing in the universe, and it’s not. But it’s definitely a good watch. In fact, if you watched it, go watch it again. Right now.

Author: MrBreada

Ordinary TSSZ and mynintendonews commenter.

Leave a Reply

