From a viewpoint, Sonic is dead.

 

I know you’ll get upset at me for saying this. I know. I’m an avid Sonic fan, and I started to look at things from a different viewpoint.

Sonic used to be gaming history, for like 2 years. In Sonic the Hedgehog and Sonic the Hedgehog 2. He will never be like that again. The only time I see Sonic being so close to the fame he had in the 90’s is Sonic Dash– Sonic Dash! But even with that game being so popular, nobody ever brings up Sonic in normal conversation.

Sonic isn’t as popular now. Nobody other than Sonic fans before really even like his games, I have to admit. Because of the damned Sonic the Hedgehog 2006, the series has been tainted permanently, and even though there’s newer, better games, they just weren’t as good as the classics. No Sonic game was.

It’s all a case of What Could Have Been. What If Sega made Sonic for Sega Saturn? What If the Saturday-morning cartoon of Sonic never got cancelled? What If Sonic 06 was better? What If Sonic X wasn’t dubbed by 4Kids? Sonic’s become bad around non-Sonic fans because of mistakes on Sega’s part. Sega fucked up. Sega ruined everyone’s favorite blue hedgehog.

That’s why I like Sonic Generations and Sonic Boom. The reason why I like Sonic Generations is because, although it has a dumb, short plot, it perfectly gives homage to the Sonic games. The reason why I like Sonic Boom is because Sonic Team (which is shit after 2006) isn’t working on the game. BigRedButton is. And seeing their staff, the games they’ve worked on, their previous work, hopefully Sonic will be back to the fame he had in the 90’s, back when he was everywhere.

Of course, I’m having high hopes, and expect Sonic Boom to fail. And as the title says, Sonic is dead. But that doesn’t mean he can’t be brought back, right?

Author: MrBreada

Gaming man. I update my blog biannually.

Leave a Reply

